Jeff’s Triathlon Blog

"I’ve got a great ambition to die of exhaustion rather than boredom." -Thomas Carlyle

Prepping for the 2010 Season

Posted by Jeff on December 8, 2009

Fear not faithful readers (HA!), for I have returned.  Well… more like I’m just checking in to let my adoring masses (HA, HA!) know that I haven’t deserted the tri-blog… I’ve just been in the offseason, so there hasn’t been much to blog about.

I’ve been spending valuable time recharging.  Come January, I’ll be back in full swing. 

Actually, I do have one thing to report.  Last Friday I enjoyed a few adult beverages and a gluttons feast of mexican food, so naturally I woke up on Saturday feeling like a fat load.  Ironically, I was too lazy to go to the gym, so I decided to go for a run around the neighborhood.  It was nice… sunny, 40 degrees (F), quiet… I knocked out 45 minutes and felt better about myself.

Of course, that was the first time I have run since my last triathlon (unless you count going on a “beer run”).  So here I sit, Monday evening with quads that feel like I’ve been powerlifting oxen.  AKA: hurts very much badly.

When will I learn to stop tempting fate and just enjoy the offseason…

Leave a comment